Posted by: Meghan | April 22, 2010

A few pictures and some lists…

So I stole a few pictures of off Facebook that other people (mostly Dana and Lauren) had posted that I didn’t happen to have, so I’m posting them here, along with some lists. (I also realized that I didn’t have many pictures from when Lauren was here for spring break up!)

Leaning Tower of Pisa- yes, I’m definitely holding it up.  (Also- it’s really not that big…I mean it’s tall, but not as tall as I expected.

This is from Spring Break- that’s Lauren on the left, and Nivi on the right- Nivi was visiting from Geneva while Lauren was here, so we had a nice little reunion! (Also, don’t you love the black coat, colorful scarf combination?)

Yes, we are at the Louvre, pretending to be Winged Victory.

List! (I have become even more of a list maker since coming here- to-do lists, favorites lists, food to try lists, etc…it’s kind of ridiculous.)

Favorite Things about Paris

1. Baguettes

2. Maccarons

3. Notre Dame all lit up at night

4. The Shakespeare Bookstore (it’s an English bookstore right near Notre Dame and it is adorable and has a reading room upstairs stocked with a bazillion books that you can just sit and read…I have literally been there 5 or 6 times (although I have yet to buy a book there!))

5. La ligne 14 (this is a line of the metro- it goes super fast because it’s automated and has a long way between stops- it allows me to get from Dana’s house to mine in under 30 minutes instead of the 45-50 it would take otherwise)

6. Luxembourg Gardens

7. The Seine and its bridges

8. The names of Metro Stops- they have such cool stories

9. This guy who sings off key at St Lazare metro station- he’s really terrible, but he seems to enjoy himself, and for some reason he just makes me smile.

10. The Musée d’Orsay- this is the Impressionist museum- enough said.

A café we had dinner at across from Notre Dame on Lauren’s last night in Paris

In London, saying hello to Honest Abe.

Our attempt at the Beatles crossing Abbey Road picture- all I can say is, it’s hard to avoid the traffic, and I had bare feet as I was Paul, and it was darn cold!

This is me at Paul McCartney’s house…he wasn’t home.

Well, it’s officially 2 weeks until the end of my internship and until Dad arrives- and I can’t believe how fast the last few weeks have flown.  I’m definitely still missing home, but I also want to make the most of the little time I have left.  I think on Saturday I’m going to go to the Victor Hugo museum and perhaps some other things I have yet to cross off my list.

Last weekend, Dana, Sara (she’s above in the picture crossing Abbey Road-second from the front) and I went to Giverny, Monet’s house and gardens.  It’s a ways from the train station, so you can either take a bus or bike, and we of course chose to bike!  It was a gorgeous day, and Giverny was lovely- probably even more beautiful than I remembered.

Tomorrow, I’m having dinner with just my host mother, since the rest of my host family is gone for the week, so that should be fun- my French is going to get quite a workout tomorrow night!

Hope you’re all well- can’t believe it’s already April 22nd!

Leave a Reply

Categories

