Posted by: Meghan | March 28, 2010

More spring break pictures!

The bridge in the background is the Millenium Bridge over the Thames and the domed building is St. Paul’s.

Big Ben!  Which, if you didn’t know (I certainly didn’t) is right next to Westminster Abbey!  I had no idea they were so close to each other.

Buckingham Palace- one of the first things I saw when arriving in London- our hostel was about a 15 minute walk away.  We happened to arrive just as they were doing the changing of the guard- we watched for a little bit and then left, because it was super crowded and hard to see.

This is on the top of the Duomo in Florence. It was a long hike up to the top (463 steps!) but totally worth it for the view.  You also get a close-up view of the painted ceiling- below.

Dana and I- again on top of the Duomo.

Santa Croce- one of the many churches in Florence.

This arch was in a little park near our hotel in Lucca.  Not sure how old this particular arch is, but it’s very possible that it’s been there since Roman times- the ramparts around the town are that old.

So, I’m two weeks into my internship, and it’s going pretty well.  It was definitely a bit of an adjustment at first- everyone is very nice, but it’s a very small office (5 employees) and everyone sort of keeps to themselves.  French office environments are definitely very different form America!  I’m doing a lot of translating from French to English, which I’m finding that I’m enjoying and I’m pretty good at it! I’m not a huge fan of sitting at a computer all day, but I’m learning so much from this experience about where I want to work in the future and gaining lots of experience.  One really nice thing- my office is right near this beautiful park, where I get to go and eat lunch every day. ( Here’s a link to a picture: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fichier:Parc_des_Buttes-Chaumont_2.jpg )

I’m pretty busy for the next few weeks- in fact, for the rest of the time I’m here, pretty much (I can’t believe I’ve been here 11 weeks!)  This coming weekend I’m going to Copenhagen, and the weekend after that, Dana and I are going to Strasbourg (which I always confuse with Salzburg, Austria, in my head- but Strasbourg’s in France!)  I’m also working on my internship report, which I need to do to get academic credit- and I just don’t want to do it!  (Although once I finish it, I’ll be done with academic work until September!)

Grammy and Grampa- I got your Easter card the other day- thank you so much!  I have no idea why the other one took over a month and this one took 3 days!

Hope you’re all enjoying the spring- I know I sure am!

Responses

  1. Hi Meggie,
    Your pictures are great! And it’s also great to see your smiling face. Miss you. Glad your internship is going better. Have a great time in Copenhagen and Strasbourg.
    Love you,
    Gramma

    • Hi Gramma-
      I didn’t see this comment when you left it for some reason.
      Anyway- thanks! Miss you too- hope you had a great Easter!
      I got your Easter card a few days ago- thank you both!
      Love you,
      Meg


Leave a Reply

Categories

