Posted by: Meghan | March 17, 2010

Spring Break!

Well, I have returned from spring break!  I had an amazing time, in Paris with Lauren and Dana, in London and in Italy.  I ate so much amazing food (mostly in Italy) and got to see a show in London (Billy Elliot- same day tickets!) and just basically had a blast.  I’m glad to be back in Paris, but I’m also glad that I get to go back to Italy in May.

We walked past the Globe theater when we visited the Tate Modern Art Museum.  It’s right on the banks of the Thames, surrounded by all the more modern looking buildings.

The Rosetta Stone at the British museum.

Sarah and I on my last day in London in Trafalgar Square.  When we were there on Tuesday (my first day there) we saw a guy training a falcon.

Florence!  That’s the Ponte Vecchio on the right side of the bridge.  Not the best picture- I think Dana has some better ones that I’ll steal later!
Florence was definitely the most frustrating part of the trip- it was an absolutely beautiful city, and I loved it,  but we had planned to go to the Uffizi, (which has tons of Renaissance art by Botticelli, Raphael, Michelangelo….) and it ended up being closed, because of a national strike.  (We knew strikes were common beforehand, but we thought they just affected the trains- but apparently since it’s a national museum, it’s closed too.)

Despite that frustration, Florence was beautiful! Above is a picture of the hills around Florence, taken while we were climbing up to the Piazza Michelangelo, which gives you a great view of Florence.  I’ll post more pictures later- now on to Lucca!

Lucca is a small little town about 1 1/2 from Florence by train.  It is, without a doubt, one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been.  The above picture was taken from on top of the Tower Guinigi, which gives an amazing view of the town and surrounding countryside.

Lucca’s historic center is surrounded by an old fortress wall, which has been converted into a park, allowing you to walk around the whole town.  We had a wonderful day in Lucca, just walking around and enjoying the sunshine!

Well, I’ve got to get to my internship!  I’ll update soon with more pictures and more about my internship!

Leave a Reply

Categories

