Posted by: Meghan | February 23, 2010

Fontainebleau

Last Friday, Dana and I went to Fontainebleau, which is probably the second most famous/historic chateau in France (after Versailles of course). It was one of my favorite day trips so far- the chateau was gorgeous, it was sunny and warm, and we had amazing macaroons at a bakery on our way back!

A bunch of the French monarchy, including Louis XIV and Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette lived here, as did Napoleon.  Napoleon actually said his goodbye, when he was exiled to Elba, from the steps of Fontainebleau.

I don’t remember what room this is…there were so many.  In some ways, I found Fontainebleau more impressive than Versailles- but I also got to see more of it.  Versailles is much more enormous, but I got to see many more rooms in Fontainebleau.

This is the grand ballroom.  When we walked in, recorded music started playing- we were really surprised!  We realized pretty quickly that it was a motion sensor, but at first we were taken aback.

The extensive grounds of Fontainebleau…there are about 4 different fountains, ponds, a grand canal, a couple of gardens…it’s pretty impressive, and it’s even more beautiful when things are actually in bloom.

On our walk back to the train station, we stopped and got macaroons.  French macaroons aren’t like American ones, with coconut- instead, they’re kind of like a light, chewy cookie sandwich with cream in the middle.  (Much better than the American ones, in my opinion.)  Basically heaven.

I got an e-mail today from the people who place us in our internships- they wanted to know if I’d be interested in working with an environmental organization (apparently they have one in mind that they think I might like), and I told them I would, so hopefully something will work out!

The next few weeks are going to be a little crazy- I have to have an oral presentation ready for Friday morning (for a practice run), and I have a paper due Monday (both are for poli sci class.)  My friend Elizabeth is coming from Copenhagen this Thursday until next Wednesday, so of course I want to see her as much as possible.  And then next Friday, the 6th is finals (yay!!)- and starting that day, I’m going to have a friend coming from Geneva (although she’ll only be here till Sunday) and one from Boston (who’s visiting her cousin, but I’m going to try to see her), and on Saturday my friend Lauren is coming from Boston.  And then the traveling, to London and Florence, starts.  It’s going to be a little crazy, but I can’t complain! (Except for my exams…those I can, and will, complain about).

When spring break is over, I will have been here for nine weeks, which is exactly half the time I’m going to be here total- kind of hard to believe, especially since I know the next two and a half weeks are going to fly by!

Leave a Reply

Categories

